Wednesday, March 18, 2026

Not really a cancer post

Wow, has it really been nearly two months since my last post? 

I've been fine but just lazy to blog and journal. I can't say I've been busy either, because there has been a lot of lazing around in the living room, watching TV or doomscrolling my beloved Reddit.

One day in the office I was wearing what I feel is one of my best outfits to date - an old Tujoh Kuntom white kebaya top with Oh Dayang kerongsang with a pistachio green Uniqlo linen midi skirt. I was so proud of it because I hadn't worn the top in years, so it gave me sustainable shop-my-stash feels. (Even though I'm not sustainable, clothes-wise, at all.) And it was comfy!

Anyway, my boomer boss said it was a nice outfit then commented that more people should try to wear eye-catching clothes so that bosses can remember them, or something along those bodoh lines. 

Boomer boss says lots of silly things, but that comment stuck with me a bit because I don't dress to catch people's attention or make them remember me! Maybe yes, in 2008 I did, working in Starbucks tryna look sexy in my white shirt (top 3 buttons unbuttoned) over a vermillion bra. Those were the days, eh? When we thought we were the shit, we were invincible, we were always right and no one could tell us any different. 

But now, I do actually dress for myself. It's very very fun for me to wear bright colours, because when I glance down at my bright green shirt or swish along the corridor in my bellbottom jeans, it feels good to have those pieces sitting on my body. Seeing beautiful prints and rainbow colours makes me happy. It would be great if more people wore them so I can be surrounded by gorgeousity, but they don't, so I just wear them myself lor. Especially at the office - I don't even want to be there in the first place, so I put extra effort into wearing colourful yet smart casual-ish 'fits to help encourage my sleepy self to get to work. 

So yes, maybe I'm known at the office for always wearing the eye-catching 'fits (and hair), but it's not to make bosses remember me plz. I malas k.

Gawd, I just love clothes so much. It brings me such joy when my outfit works. In uni, I used to plan my outfits in writing for a week. Earrings included. I did it during the chem lectures. These days I just mentally plan them - I plan way ahead for special events like dinners or shows, and for office days I just pull stuff out the night before. 

Unfortunately, this clothes passion for me leads to a lot of laundry work and an overflowing wardrobe. Plus a significant amount of handwashing. It's a necessary annoyance. 

Anyway, I've just completed Cycle 6 of this Enhertu chemo. Both cycles involved vomiting, and this latest cycle had me vomiting at Day 14 after eating a bite of tandoori chicken. I really think my body cannot stand strong Indian spices anymore because I was gagging when Cutes bought home naan and curries. And an awful mutton chop from Yaseem Nasi Kandar. (It was huge chunks of meat instead of nice thin pieces, and everything was swimming in sauce, sauce tasted wrong, and there was no tomato or peas! GTFO with that, Yaseem.) I'm missing Beach Road mutton chop, though. Maybe I'll try and see if the aversion applies to that mutton chop. 

I've tried Granisetron and Ondansetron for the puking but nothing has really helped.

Also I'm having annoying indigestion for the entire cycle now. So every meal I eat, no matter how small, leads to abdominal discomfort from the maximum gassiness, and I only feel better after I manage a painful burp or two. Eating isn't as enjoyable anymore. (But that doesn't mean I've stopped eating. The number of times I've been to Konditori this month - LOL.)

I wore my kimono pants to today's chemo and one patient stopped in her tracks to compliment the pants while my oncologist raved, "You always wear such bold stuff. But bold in a pleasing way, not jarring." Wow thanks guys!




Thursday, January 22, 2026

Baseline level of pain and discomfort

Thank you to the coupla sweet friends who check this blog regularly and then checked up on me after not seeing any update since December!

I'll preface this by saying I'm fine. In fact, I had the most productive day of this chemo cycle yesterday! I did a load of laundry, cooked Thai green curry chicken, and went for ballet class, in addition to doing a bunch of work. Of course, I had to fight the internal "Do I really have to go to class? Maybe I can skip it, I can afford it" monologue and I came home aching to high heaven. But dance, for me, is always worth it. And I got to hear Raquel say, "Good timing, Norain" during the tricky pliƩ combination, which I kind of live for.

Actual infusion

I had my fourth round of Enhertu infusion on New Year's Eve. Yes, what a fun way to end the year! As NCCS was on half day for NYE, I had to also appear on 30 Dec for my blood test. (It's cool because I took the afternoon off and went to Muse after the blood draw.) So on NYE itself, I saw the oncologist to complain about my soft nails (they now split really easily, even with a bump against anything solid, and snag on most fabrics and continue to split), then hung around for my chemo sesh. The "rooftop" garden is a really nice place to chill because it's quiet and shaded with a nice water feature. Watch out for the handwave-activated doors though, because they open quite violently.

Anyway, I was called up around 1pm and done by 2pm because Enhertu infusion is just that fast. Then I took the bus home and cooked karuvattu kulambu (dried fish curry) for the first time ever, and we rang in the new year at the 9th floor carpark rooftop!

Chemo 'fit

Pain and suffering

I knew that days 4 - 10 of the cycle would be the worst, with the nausea, acid reflux, bloating, and actual puking. But it didn't help me enjoy the week more or anything. I ate seulas durian (a piece of durian), then started eating chicken rice and started puking halfway, so that was fun. I just oozed through the days as best as I could, counting down to the end of week 2.

But then.

Week 3 was spent with jaw pain, bloating, stomach pain that doesn't go away with massage or medicine, and a very odd ache that I can only describe as a muscle tear feeling which attacks every time pressure is applied to any part of my body. On this last issue, it hurts my head to even pull on a t-shirt, as the collar part grazes my head. There are no cuts or bruises though so it's super mysterious. 

I did go to the polyclinic to complain about the first three issues after a week of suffering, by the way. The doctor diagnosed it as "maybe you grind your teeth while sleeping, I'll give you ibuprofen" and "gastritis, I'll give you omeprazole for that". She did read through my NCCS notes - that's why I went the poly route instead of a private GP - and initially remarked, "Oh, bloating, but you normally get that right?"

Ya-huh but this bloating is different and that's why I dragged myself down hellloooo.

Anyway I feel it was a wasted trip health-wise because the meds did nothing. Maybe these are just new Enhertu symptoms and I have to operate on this baseline level of pain and discomfort. 

But it wasn't a total loss because I popped over to Cata Coffee and The Egyptian Baker after that and got some coffee and yummy bakes! That's one great selling point of Eunos Polyclinic, that it's so near these great places.

Schedule

My oncologist recommended 4 - 6 Enhertu cycles before we do a CT scan, so I asked for the scan to be done before number 5. It's scheduled for the end of this month because they couldn't get an earlier date, so I get an extra two weeks off before my next infusion! I'm so thankful because maybe my body will feel better within these bonus two weeks. Even though I'm still dealing with the jaw pain, stomach pain, and muscle tear sensations.

I can still dance, though. The pain is not intense enough to distract me when I'm dancing. But the moment I'm in the bus home, it's back to haunt me. Always thankful to be able to dance (and get compliments on my musicality!).

Office 'fit today


Not really a cancer post

Wow, has it really been nearly two months since my last post?  I've been fine but just lazy to blog and journal. I can't say I'v...